A Little Change of Plans

2012 Rock 'n' Roll Marathon San Diego

Alright, I was planning on running the Peace-Love-Run half marathon on April 4th. I have had to take about a week off though due to some lovely shin issues after my last 5 mile hill run. I also just generally don’t feel like I will be ready for that race. So I have decided to give myself some more time to train. I just registered for the San Diego Rock n’ Roll Half Marathon on May 31st, so no backing out now. Its a more expensive registration (why are registrations so expensive?? I need to organize a race because that’s clearly where the money is. This one benefits the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society, so that’s pretty cool), but it’s also worth it because it seems like it will be a bigger, more fun race. There are bands that play along the route, and God knows distraction is a good thing to keep your mind off the pain.

I can’t believe how many different parts of my body have found a way to hurt because of running. My greatest and most irrational fear is that I will get that injury where your Achilles tendon rips and curls up into the back of your leg. The shin pain I’ve had for the last week has been the worst thing I’ve actually had so far, and that’s really not that bad.  That, and I believe my big toenail will be leaving me again. It fell off after a beach hike a few years ago, again after the San Gorgonio backpacking trip, and this time it is leaving in protest of my last 8 mile run. We really have a bad relationship, me and that toe nail. I abuse and abuse it, but it always comes back to me.

I am leaving my job at the end of April and will be spending almost the entire month of May traveling. I’m calling it my Farewell Tour before the Peace Corps (It rhymes!). So I will have to figure out how to do my training runs while I am traveling. That should be a fun little challenge. I’ll have to run in Montana, San Francisco, New York, and Durham. That really shouldn’t be a problem though because exploring is one of my favorite things about running.

Leave a comment

Filed under Peace Corps, Running, US Travel

Thoughts?

