Off We Go

  
I’m writing this as I sit in the airport waiting for the plane that’s going to take me away from home. It’s never felt like that before. I’ve always been confident I would be back in a few weeks at most. It’s hard. It was a month of goodbyes. Goodbye to my family, friends, and maybe hardest: to my dog.  I still need to write a post about the amazing month I had in May, I’ll do that soon. For now, suffice it to say I was able to see some of the people I love most, and had a wonderful time with them. It was so great to keep myself busy as well.

I’m beyond excited for what is to come in the days, weeks, months, and years ahead. I know I’m doing what I want to do. I’m taking the next step in building the life I want. There is something so freeing in being so assured of what you want to do. I’m uncertain about so many things to come, but that’s ok. The uncertainties will be dealt with as they come. That’s why I love this line from Oh the Places You’ll Go.

And when things start to happen,
don’t worry. Don’t stew.
Just go right along.

You’ll
start happening too.

I know that I’ve done what I have to do for now, so now its time to enjoy the ride.

I certainly packed enough. One 50 pound bag, one 45 pound bag, a carry on, and my backpack. Let me tell you that’s a fun time getting through the airport. Packing was an adventure. I thought I would be able to fit everything into one bag. What a fool. I probably brought way too much stuff, at the same time, I wish I had more room for snacks… Oh well, I’ll probably have to write a separate post about that whole process.

Anyway, I’m kind of rambling so I’ll wrap it up. I’m on my way to Miami for orientation stuff. I get there around 6:30 tonight, and am looking forward to meeting up with the other crazy people who are trainees. We’ll leave for St. Lucia to start our official PST (pre service training) which will last the next 3 months.  After that, I’ll be assigned a community on St. Lucia, Grenada, Dominica, or St. Vincent and the Grenadines. Thats where I’ll stay for 2 years. It’s exciting stuff. I feel a little sick about leaving my people and my hound, but I’ll be ok.

1 Comment

Filed under Peace Corps

One response to “Off We Go

  1. meiyan2014

    Safe travels dear! I hope you have a blast at training.

    Like

Thoughts?

